Podcast Roundup

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

If you are always looking for ways to pass the time, like I am, podcasts are awesome. I mostly listen to them on my walk to class, while I’m doing homework, or on long car trips; they are a great alternative to music if you’re just not in the mood for it, or for when you are focused on a task and don’t need to be distracted by a TV show or video but still need the background noise of someone talking. There are so many podcasts out there for so many topics, and whether you like cooking or true crime or sports, there is something out there in the podcasting world for you to listen to, and it’s totally free! This week I’ve wrangled up a few of my favorites to get you started, as well as links to their websites where you can learn more about them. If you have an iPhone, they can all be downloaded through the Podcasts app available through the App Store for free (my favorite price).

I’m hoping to get back into the swing of blogging really soon – March was an extremely busy month, but with the semester almost over I should have more time to blog in the next month or so. Now if I can just make it through finals, we’ll be golden.

Thanks for reading! Here’s my podcast roundup for April 2017.


My Brother, My Brother, and Me

This is quickly becoming my favorite podcast of all time. It has made me guffaw on the bus, Starbucks, walking down the street, everywhere. Every episode is hilarious. In this podcast, affectionately called MBMBaM, three brothers answer listener submitted questions in a Dear Abby style advice column, but with a hilarious, quirky style of witty humor that for some reason just speaks to me. It isn’t overly dirty or offensive, and while it definitely has its moments, I feel like its humor is such that you’re enjoying it too much to be offended. They also have a Yahoo Answers segment where listeners submit goofy Yahoo Answers questions they’ve found, as well as a “Farm Wisdom” segment where they discuss farm-related myths and superstitions, which, as out of place as it sounds, fits right in with the offbeat charm of the show. I absolutely recommend this for whenever you just need a good, long, belly laugh. Episode 39: Peepum’s Nastygum is my all time favorite, for obvious reasons.

Criminal

I love anything true crime related. Murder mysteries, detective work, the criminal justice system; all of it interests me. Criminal is an interesting twist on the traditional crime story, however. Narrated by Phoebe Judge, Criminal focuses on all aspects of crime, and every episode introduces a new, real-life story of something involved with the criminal world. For example, my favorite episode so far, “Officer Talon” tells the story of a police K9 dog Talon and his officer Scott Foster, explaining their unique bond and what happens when a K9 dog retires. One of my other favorites, and one of the most mind-blowing things I have ever heard, is from the episode “Money Tree” about a girl whose parents identities were stolen. I won’t spoil it for you, but the twists in these episodes! Criminal is a must-listen if these kinds of things interest you.

The Mortified Podcast

I love humor in all its forms, and I love to laugh. Mortified is an interesting take on a stand-up comedy style podcast where people do something I would never in a million years have the courage to do: they stand up in front of a crowd of people and read their childhood diaries, letters, notes, and other embarrassing mementos of times they would probably rather hide from the world. While this seems cringey and too awkward to enjoy, it is completely the opposite (trust me – I have an uncanny secondhand embarrassment sixth sense). It is so funny to hear people read the things they wrote as awkward middle schoolers or love struck teens. Mortified also does my favorite thing a podcast has ever done, where at the end of each episode, they have a one-on-one interview with the subject of that episode where they talk about their life at the time of that writing. While it can be vulgar in the way that teenage antics can be, it’s definitely not anything too raunchy. My favorite episode is still “Tynan: Peace! One Luv!” and if you listen, you will see why.

The Adventure Zone

Now, I will admit, this is one of the weirder and more niche podcasts on this list. From the same brothers that do My Brother, My Brother, and Me, The Adventure Zone is a podcast where the brothers play Dungeons and Dragons, joined by their dad. While listening to four people play Dungeons and Dragons sounds more boring than watching paint dry, again, there is something about their offbeat style of humor that could make even the wettest of paint seem interesting. I even think people not super into the whole Dungeons and Dragons thing could really enjoy this podcast; not only is the humor totally on point, the brothers’ characters really take on lives of their own in the best ways.

fullsizeoutput_4f9

One thought on “Podcast Roundup

Leave a Reply

