Homemade Puppy Treats!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

If you know me, then you know there are few things in this world I love more than dogs, and specifically, my dog. She is my miniature dachshund named Maisy, and she turned three years old today. When she’s not being a pain in the butt, she is the sweetest, cuddliest dog, with big, wet kisses to spare and a love for anything chewable (which is most things, for her). I’ve wanted to try making homemade treats for her for a while, so I decided to give it a try this weekend for her birthday. There are going to be people reading this who are thinking about how insane I am for caring so much about my dog’s birthday, and I am perfectly fine with that. I made these treats and my dog loved them and I loved making them, and that’s really all that matters to me.

Maisy’s favorite human food is yogurt. She cries and shakes in excitement when any of us are eating it and can’t wait to lick the container when we’re done. I’m not entirely sure why she loves it so much, but I wanted to make her birthday treats with her favorite food ever. All of the foods in this recipe are people food but are dog safe. You could theoretically switch out the fruit in it for something your dog may like more, or whatever you want to change and experiment with; if you do, let me know what you did! I’m also going to include a link to a list of dog-safe human foods from the AKC website, in case you are wondering about what foods are okay to give to your puppy, so we can all safely experiment with this recipe.


Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Homemade Yogurt & Banana Puppy Treats

You will need:

32 oz. Yogurt (plain)

Peanut Butter (1-2 tablespoons)

1 Banana

Honey (1 tablespoon)

Cookie mold (preferably silicone, for the purpose of getting them out once they’re done)


I took all of the ingredients and put them into a blender, and that’s the hardest part. This recipe is that easy. Make sure to slice the banana into chunks to make it easier to blend.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Then, blend it up! Don’t do what I did and put the bananas at the bottom – it can gum up the blades and it won’t process as well. I would add them at the top to avoid that little mistake.

IMG_0962

Do it right and it should look something like this vanilla pudding looking concoction.

Now, take a silicone mold and fill them with the mixture, but make sure not to overfill them. I bought the precious flower one below at Hobby Lobby in the cake decorating section.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Once they’re full, pop the mold in the freezer for two-ish hours so they can freeze. After that, you’re done! Store them in a ziploc bag in the freezer and you’re good to go.

Maisy loved these, and I hope your dog will too! She scarfs them down like they’re going out of style. They are totally human grade, but not super tasty; try it for yourself and see how you like them! Maybe they’ll be a treat for you too. If you’re really into peanut butter and banana sandwiches, I have a feeling you’ll like these, because that’s exactly what they taste like.

Thank you for reading! And happy birthday to my sweet Maisy girl.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

fullsizeoutput_4f9

Leave a Reply

